These days, there are so many different ways to stream TV and movies that you may find your bank account dwindling due to too many monthly subscriptions. Perhaps you’ve decided that one of them needs to be cut in order for your credit card to get a break. If you’ve decided to stop using Netflix, there are a few things you should know before you delete your account. There’s also a distinction to be made between deleting an account and deleting a profile, which you should be aware of, so keep reading to learn how to delete your Netflix account.
Deleting account versus deleting profile
If you want to delete your account, you’re also deleting the service as a whole. Netflix will no longer bill you, and as a result, you will be unable to watch anything on the streaming platform.
Another option is to delete your Netflix profile, which is separate from your Netflix account. When you create a Netflix account, you can create profiles so that multiple people can watch at the same time or watch the same shows and keep track of their progress. Other than deleting all of a profile’s watch history, deleting a profile has no other effect on your account.
Related: How to Fix Netflix Error Code UI3012
How to delete your Netflix account
If you want to stop getting Netflix bills, make sure you delete the entire account, not just the profile you’re using. To delete your entire account, begin by going to the top corner of your screen, where your user’s profile is located. When you click on it, a menu will appear with the option “Account.” This will take you to your account settings if you click on it.
You’ll see an option to cancel your membership there. Once you’ve done that, confirm that you want to cancel your Netflix membership. Netflix will be available until the end of your current billing period, after which you will not be charged again.
What to keep in mind
If you cancel your Netflix membership, keep in mind that your account will not be permanently deleted for another 10 months. If you want your Netflix account permanently deleted, send an email to [email protected]. Make your e-subject mail’s “Delete My Account” and then request that your account be deleted immediately. Use the email address that is associated with your Netflix account. Because Netflix can now process your request, this process will result in your account being deleted much faster.
How to delete your profile
You’re only trying to remove a profile from your Netflix account, rather than the entire account. Maybe you used to share Netflix with a friend but now they have their own, or maybe you have an ex for whom you no longer want to provide Netflix.
To delete a profile, go to the upper right corner of your screen and click your icon, then select Manage Profiles from the drop-down menu. Then, next to the profile you want to delete, click the pencil icon. The option to delete your profile will appear, and all you have to do now is confirm that this is what you want to do!
If none of these options appeal to you, you might want to consider putting your account on hold. When you don’t want to cancel Netflix permanently, this allows you to take a break from it for a while. You can usually keep your account open for seven to ninety days if you go to the Help Center and click Start a Live Chat. This will connect you with a representative who will be able to assist you with your request. You will not be charged during this time, and you can cancel your account at any time.
These are all the different ways you can Delete Netflix Account. Remember, contact Netflix support for any other questions because they will be best suited to help you.