You don’t need to disable Live Photo every time you turn on the camera. All you need is to Keep Your iPhone’s Camera Settings From Resetting When You Close the App.
Your iPhone’s Camera Settings has different modes: live photos, slow motion videos, panoramic landscape photos, to name a few. In most cases, every time you take a picture, you use the camera in the same way and use your favorite settings. Unfortunately, every time you restart the camera app, your device seems to reset all these iPhone’s Camera Settings. Fortunately, there is a workaround for this annoying “feature”.
Apple hides the function of preserving camera settings in the “Preserve Settings” menu and uses an appropriate name. Enabling it allows you to do what you might want your camera to do first: keep the settings you used the last time so they are still active the next time you turn on the camera. This way, live photos can stay closed until you open them again, you can keep video mode enabled instead of switching the camera back to photos by default, and you can keep ProRAW enabled every time you shoot.
To find these settings, just go to “Settings”> “Camera”> “Keep Settings”. Here, you will see a set of options, each with its own switch. Browse the list and enable the switches next to the options you want the camera to remember, and keep the options you want the camera to reset every time.
iPhone’s Camera Settings and Features
However, keep in mind that this list is not the same on all iPhones. Because some iPhones have different camera features, you may not see all the options on a particular device. In fact, some settings are only available in iOS 15, which is currently in beta testing. The following is a complete list and what they do; your options may be different:
- Camera Mode: keeps the last used camera mode (Photos, Video, Portrait, etc.).
- Creative Controls: remembers the last used filter, aspect ratio, light, or depth setting.
- Exposure Adjustment: preserves the last used exposure adjustment, and always keeps the exposure adjustment indicator on-screen.
- Night Mode: preserves your last night mode setting (iOS 15).
- Portrait Zoom: keeps the Portrait mode zoom lens, instead of reverting to the default lens (iOS 15).
- Apple ProRAW: keeps ProRAW enabled (iPhone 12 Pro and 12 Pro Max)
- Live Photo: preserves your Live Photo setting.
You can go back and adjust these settings at any time. If you find that you want your camera to always go back to photography mode, or you want the filter to reset to the default value each time, you can change your mind at any time.